Why there’s nothing else I’d rather do than travel right now

This is it. It’s the beginning of a new era. For the first time in my life, I have no idea what the next few year are going to bring. Forget years, I don’t even know where I’ll be next month! And I couldn’t be happier about it.

The travel bug first caught me by surprise a few years ago when I traveled 900 miles in 36 hours on a crazy once-in-a-lifetime charity hitchhike. Since then, the desire to travel – to really travel – has been slowly but surely spreading like a true disease throughout my whole life. Now the day has come when I leave behind the comfort of a place well known and set off to find new somewheres that will stretch me, teach me and help shape me into the person I need to be.

I have had varying reactions when explaining my future plans after graduation.
‘One-way ticket? Mexico? Hmm… And then what? Traveling full-time??’
I’ve seen some, although not many, politely shocked people or those who don’t quite understand the idea. I guess it can seem a little bit crazy or unconventional (despite the sheer number of people currently leading the same path as me!). But let me tell you why traveling is absolutely completely unquestionably worth it. At least for me.

It makes you leave your comfort zone

Sure, being in your comfort zone is… comfortable. But there are so many incredible discoveries to be found when you take just a little step outside.

comfort_zone_magic

It makes you more accepting

You meet so many people with views, lives and traditions different from yours. Even if you don’t agree with them, you soon start to realise that we’re more alike than we are different.

It inspires you

All those people and their stories will ignite ideas you never thought you’d have. They will open up your eyes to new worlds and possibilities and inspire you to reach your own heights.

It helps create life-long friendships

Some of the people I have met while traveling have become my closest friends and the best travel buddies.

frienship

It teaches you

There is so much to be learned while on the road – about yourself, about the people with you, about new cultures, languages, new skills… The list goes on and on. And like the Lithuanian saying goes – you won’t carry knowledge on your shoulders.

It gives you memories to keep forever

Some happy, some funny, some cringey… The memories you make while traveling will be amazing to look back on and may just be what gets you through a tough week in the office. But more importantly I think, the memories remind you of the power you have to be in control of your own happiness and to choose the way you want to live your life each day.

There are many many more reasons but I’ll leave them for another time. I’m sure you could think of many of your own 🙂 for now though, you’ll find me where the magic happens.

Leave a Reply

